I have always been inspired and amazed when I see weight loss success stories. They have often truly inspired me, but nothing has ever been enough to make me stick with it. Do they have a special gene that I do not? Do they have better will power than I do? Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe some of them had that one eye opening experience that was like a slap in the face like I did.
I have been one of those on and off the low carb way of eating for a while now. I know how much better I feel while eating low carbohydrates and gluten free, but one taste of sugar or a piece of bread would be like an open invitation to me to eat as many carbs as I could for the next month or so. Well that was me. Or at least me on the way, as it is still to new to claim major success but I am doing better than before mentally.
About three weeks ago I went on a family vacation. Things were going great up until about the third day there. We went to an amusement park. I went to go on one of those rides that is like a big air tube with six seats on it. They all looked big enough and I thought for sure I wouldn't have an issue. Well, I was wrong. I got on with my two young children and found out the seat belt was just shy of closing. No matter how I moved I could not get it to click. I do carry the largest portion of my weight in my belly. I could feel myself get warm as my cheeks turned red. My oldest, only eleven, says"it's ok Mom, you don't have to go on". She is amazing, and alway telling me I am not fat and she loves me for me. This brings tears to my eyes just typing, and thinking about her. But she is a bit wrong, it isn't ok. I am fat. I have not been the best of role models. I am not doing everything I can to be here for a long time for her or her brother. I am not taking care of myself.
It was a hard pill to swallow but I feel as if it was a wake up call, a slap in the face. It worked. First off, I have told myself "I am worthy". Worthy of their love and admiration. Worthy of taking better care of myself.
So, for the last two weeks I have started eating healthy again. I had one slip while making a cake for my son's birthday but I accepted it for what it was, a bad habit slip, and moved on. I did not continue to eat sugar loaded junk for the rest of the evening. I have lots of plans going forward, but right now I am taking it one day at a time. The wake up call will always stay with me. I will now work harder and forgive myself for any minor slip up, but hopefully they will be far and few between.
I hope for many on the road to better health you do not have to have a wake up call. If you have had that wake up call please share some day, it does feel good to get it out and maybe connect with others.